Awards and reports from other meetings are available below:

(from the Seattle May 2011 ASA meeting: Congratulations, students!)

Acoustical Oceanography
No competition was held

Architectural Acoustics
First: Timothy Hsu, Georgia Institute of Technology
Second: Arun Mahapatra, Georgia Institute of Technology

Animal Bioacoustics
First: Megan McKenna, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California

Biomedical Acoustics
First: Peng Zhang, Boston University
Second: Himanshu Shekhar, University of Rochester
Third: Pavlos Anastasiadis, University of Hawaii

Engineering Acoustics
First: Joshua Krause, Tufts University
Second: Daniel Domme Jr., Pennsylvania State University

Musical Acoustics
First: Juliette Chabassier, ENSTA ParisTEch
Second: Kevin Dooley, University of California, San Diego

Jessica Morgan, Brigham Young University
James Esplin, Brigham Young University

Signal Processing in Acoustics
David Hague, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Shaun Anderson, Georgia Institute of Technology

Speech Communication
First: Tyler Perrachione, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Second: Argyro Katsika, Yale University

Structural Acoustics and Vibration
First: Matthew D. Shaw, Brigham Young University
Second: Christina Naify, University of Southern California, Los Angeles

Underwater Acoustics
First: James Traer, University of California, San Diego
Second: Ballard Blair, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

E-zine from the Seattle May 2011 ASA meeting


(Echoes newsletter column describing Seattle May 2011 ASA meeting)
Alex Sell
Greetings from Seattle! The student contingent of the society was well represented by the 364 students who attended this most recent ASA meeting. We continued our tradition of the Monday evening student icebreaker, Wednesday evening student forum and reception, and debuted the Interdisciplinary and Student Council Session titled, "Introduction to Technical Committee Research and Activities, especially for Students and First-Time Meeting Attendees." This session was held to introduce the different technical areas of the Society to first-timers, and talks were given by seasoned members of each technical committee. The student council would like to thank all of the presenters at this session and plans to sponsor similar sessions once-yearly at domestic meetings.
In other news, the Student Council elected its new Chair, Eric Dieckman. We would like to thank our outgoing Chair, Lauren Ronsse for her service to the Society. Also, three positions for technical committee representatives to the Student Council are open, effective immediately, and three more will open following the ASA meeting in San Diego, this fall. Interested students should visit: for more details.
If you would like more news on student events, check out our Twitter feed, @ASAStudents, or sign up for the ASA student mailing list: We look forward to seeing many more students in San Diego this fall!

Alex Sell is a graduate student
in Acoustics and Penn State
University. He can be contacted

(from Summer 2011 Echoes newslette. Reprinted with permission.)