Awards and reports from other meetings are available below:

(from the New Orleans Dec 2007 ASA meeting: Congratulations, students!)

Animal Bioacoustics
Joy Smith (Coastal Carolina University)

Acoustical Oceanography
1st- David R. Barclay and Michael J. Buckingham (University of California, San Diego)
2nd- Megan S. Ballard and Kyle M. Becker (Penn State University)

Architectural Acoustics
1st- Samantha B. Rawlings and Joshua A. Magee (University of Hartford)
2nd- Gordon Rubin (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

[only awarded in spring]

Engineering Acoustics
Tim Marston (Penn State University)

Musical Acoustics
1st- Rohan Krishnamurthy (Kalamazoo College)
2nd- Edward L. Toussaint (Lawrence University)

Noise Young Presenter Award
Yun Jin (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
Cole V. Duke (Brigham Young University)

Signal Processing Young Presenter Award
Joris Vanherzeele (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)

Speech Communication
1st- Youngsok Jung (Harvard-MIT Div. of Health Science and Technology)
2nd- Melissa Baese (Northwestern University)

Structural Acoustics and Vibration
1st- Kyungmin Baik (Washington State University)
2nd- R. Benjamin Davis (Duke University)

Underwater Acoustics
1st- Yaniv Brick (Tel Aviv University)
2nd- Shawn F. Johnson (Penn State University)


E-zine from the New Orleans Dec 2007 ASA meeting

(Echoes newsletter column describing New Orleans Dec 2007 ASA meeting)
Andrew Ganse and Michelle Vigeant
Did you get your fill of beignets in New Orleans?  While the New Orleans ASA meeting overall was clearly more intimate than other recent meetings (read: smaller), it was filled with a number of student highlights.
   Professor David Dowling of the University of Michigan was presented with the Student Council's Mentoring Award at the student reception.  This is an ongoing award program, and students as well all other ASA members are encouraged to nominate ASA members for the Mentoring Award.  Nomination forms are found in the "ASA Student Zone," the official student website of the ASA (
   The Student Council presented its third Grants and Fellowships workshop.  Representatives from the National Science Foundation (NSF), American Institute of Physics (AIP), National Institutes of Health (NIH), Office of Naval Research (ONR), and the ASA's own Prizes and Special Fellowships Committee gave presentations and then joined break-out groups for discussions in individual fields.  About 50 students attended this workshop and deemed it a great success. Thank you again to all the representatives for coming!
   A new program started by the Mentoring Alliance provides a free Fellows' Luncheon ticket to one student in each ASA technical area and hosts that student at the lunch by a Fellow in their technical area.  At the New Orleans meeting the tickets were raffled off at the student reception, but in the future the Student Council plans to distribute the tickets in advance of the ASA meeting.
   The new president of the ASA, Gilles Daigle, joined the Student Council meeting to introduce himself and to clarify points for the upcoming Paris meeting.  In particular, regarding student financial assistance, when students submit their abstracts (due January 10th) they must indicate that they are applying for funding.  Students will be notified if they receive funding before the early registration payment deadline, which is February 8, 2008.  Continually updated information about the Paris meeting can be found on the official meeting website as well as the "Prepare for Paris!" page of the ASA Student Zone website.
   We look forward to seeing as many students as possible at the Paris meeting in the summer - bon voyage!

Andrew Ganse is a theoretical seismology graduate student at the University of Washington and the student representative for Underwater Acoustics.

Michelle Vigeant is an architectural acoustics graduate student at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln and the student representative for Architectural Acoustics.

(from Winterer 2008 Echoes newsletter, published in Acoustics Today, Vol. 18, Issue 1, © 2008 Acoustical Society of America. Reprinted with permission.)