silver medal

The Silver Medal in Engineering Acoustics

The Silver Medal is presented to individuals, without age limitation, for contributions to the advancement of science, engineering, or human welfare through the application of acoustic principles or through research accomplishments in acoustics. The recipients of the Silver Medal in Engineering Acoustics are listed below.

1974Harry F. OlsenFor his innovative and lasting contributions in microphones, loudspeakers, sound reproduction, and electronic music, his many publications, and his constructive editing.
1976Hugh S. KnowlesFor leadership, innovation, vision in the application of acoustical science and technology in industry and government and, in particular, for contributions to the advancement of technology for hearing improvement.
1978Benjamin B. BauerFor his contributions to engineering acoustics, particularly in the development of techniques and devices used to pick up, record, and reproduce sound.
1982Per Vilhelm BruelFor significant contributions in sound level instrumentation and precision measurement, and for notable leadership in international standards in acoustics.
1984Vincent SalmonFor contributions in the design of horns and the control of noise and vibration.
1986Albert G. BodineFor his ingenuity in developing sonic vibratory devices of great technological importance.
1989Joshua E. GreensponFor his leadership and contributions to the solution of underwater radiation and scattering problems.
1992Alan PowellFor leadership in research in the silencing of ship noise and for fundamental contributions to aeroacoustics.
1995James E. WestFor developing and optimizing polymer electret transducers.
1998Richard H. LyonFor contributions to noise reduction and products through design and to Statistical Energy Analysis.
2001Ilene J. Busch-VishniacFor development of novel electret microphones and of micro-electro-mechanical sensors and positioners.